Latest Surgery

Following on from my post in January, I have now had the surgery to put a skin and fat graft in front of my eye implant so that hopefully I will be able to have a proper moulded prosthetic eye made.

The operation day was quite uneventful, I think I’m becoming immune to it all. Fortunately, they allowed me to go home the same day and although my eye has been a little uncomfortable it hasn’t been too much of a problem. The biggest problem is that I have to wear a pressure bandage for a week on my eye so hair washing is a bit of a challenge!

I had a little piece of skin removed from my abdomen but the wound was actually quite small. I don’t have to keep it dry either which I feared might be the case.

The biggest plus point is that the surgeon was able to put my temporary prosthetic eye back in rather than a conformer, so I should look pretty normal, well as normal as I ever do, once the bandage has been removed!

There’s no guarantee that this will solve the problem so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

