Aldi Versus Sainsbury’s from a Blind Person’s Perspective

As a blind person, I invariably shop online when buying groceries because I find it quicker, more convenient and it means that I don’t have to take up a member of staff’s time in store to help me to do a weekly shop.

However, there are times when, like most people, I need to nip into the local supermarket for something that I’ve forgotten or something that I’ve just decided I’d like. Today was one of those days. I want to make us some tomato soup for lunch and needed some basil and tinned tomatoes so I went to Sainsbury’s which is my nearest supermarket. I also have the option to go to Aldi which is just a little further away. I really wish I’d gone there and given them my custom instead of opting for convenience.

Our local Aldi are absolutely fantastic when it comes to customer service, particularly with regard to providing someone to guide me around the store, locate the items I need and help me through the checkout. Their staff are polite and courteous and they are also very efficient. I hope someone from Aldi might read this as, if there is an award for local stores, I’d like to recommend that your Daybrook store receives it for exceptional customer service.

Going into Sainsbury’s this morning, I had a very different experience. I went to the customer service counter and asked if there was someone to help me find some items. I was met with a very unfriendly response of, “Do you want much?” What sort of question is that? Is there perhaps a limit to how many items a blind person can expect to buy in one session? I then had to wait for several minutes while other people were served before a request was put out for someone to help me. In fairness, the person who eventually came was very friendly and helpful but she was clearly snowed under with work and not many people to help her.

Sainsbury’s, if you’re reading this, why not send your staff to Aldi for customer service training?

Unfortunately, this is not a one off experience. I know that I will get a much better reception at Aldi than I do at Sainsbury’s.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Comment, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aldi Versus Sainsbury’s from a Blind Person’s Perspective

  1. Richard Trelfa says:

    Sorry to hear about this Mel. Our local Sainsburys (Middlesbrough) has great customer service. I tend to go there for a few pieces each week and I’ve never had a particular problem with them. Even when I get a very inexperienced member of staff. Could th the question “Do you want much?” be referring to whether you will need a basket or a trolley? Try asking to talk to a manager and airing your concerns.

Leave a Reply

