Inaccessibility Monday

Is it Inaccessibility Monday or is it in fact just another day? Someone on my Facebook timeline had an inaccessibility day last week, being told she couldn’t take part in a walking group and something else which for the moment escapes my mind. The point I am trying to make is that it seems that most days we, as blind people, battle with some type of inaccessibility problem, not of our own making or because we are incapable. We have to deal with them, day in, day out, on top of everything else we want or need to do in order to lead normal productive lives.

Mine today has been going on for just over a week now and hopefully was resolved finally today. I received a form telling me to reapply for a concessionary bus pass from the County Council. No I couldn’t just renew mine, the system won’t allow for it.

I therefore had to go to our local council offices last Monday as there was no provision for any help over the phone. This I did but found out there that I should have taken various bit of paperwork. I had no idea about these as I can’t read the form! I therefore had to return to the council on Tuesday with the relevant paperwork. That’s 20 minutes’ walk, at least half an hour in the offices and 20 minutes’ walk home again.

On Saturday I received a letter, in print, talking about my possible eligibility for a companion pass. This would allow someone else to travel with me at the concessionary rate which could be useful from time to time. It mentioned having to provide a certificate of visual impairment.

So, off I went to the council office again with more paper. When I got there, it turned out that I’d been sent a blank application form so had to start from scratch.

If this process had been an online application I could have filled it out in minutes, seen what documentation was required, scanned in copies and attached them.

When will councils realise that blind people’s time is also important to us?

One of the major contributing factors of my terminating my employment with Nottinghamshire county Council was because systems were becoming unworkable. It seems that it’s not much better for a service user.

Yes I’m angry. In this electronic age there is no excuse for these antiquated discriminatory systems.

Oh yes, and whilst I was doing all this, my husband was dealing with a print letter inviting him to go for an eye test. He’s totally blind with no eyes. Yes it’s kind of funny, or it would be if it didn’t happen time and time and time again.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inaccessibility Monday

  1. Torie says:

    Gosh, how frustrating for you dealing with all that paperwork. The transport network deal with replacement passes here i think. There really is no excuse for inaccessible forms nowadays. Not just for blind people but for everyone. I hope this week is more accessible for you.

Leave a Reply

