A Little Disappointing

Yesterday I had an eye check-up as last time I went, part of the implant was showing. I hadn’t realised till I was told that the gap had measured 1 millimetre by 2. Very tiny but significant. Yesterday it was 2 by 3 millimetres so it’s growing. Not exactly a yawning gap but even more significant.

Sadly this means more surgery to take a skin graft and place it over the gap to hopefully encourage it to heal up. I’m kind of disappointed about this as my eye from the outside looks great and feels good too. It’s going to be a set back in that I won’t be able to wear a prosthetic eye for a while again. I also asked my consultant if she could just whip the other one out while I was under anaesthetic but she wants my right eye sorted before she starts on the left.

To me that just seems to be prolonging the whole process but sadly I couldn’t convince her.

I guess I’ve been kind of spoilt for a while, having an eye that looks good and doesn’t hurt, I just want that for both eyes and I want it now!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Health, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Disappointing

  1. Torie says:

    It’s a shame that your eye is growning. I suppose if it’s sorted out now it’ll stop it growing further and maybe causing dammage. Hopefully they’ll remove the other eye soon for you before it gets too painful.

Leave a Reply

