May I Be One of the Last to Wish my Readers a Happy New Year!

This is a very belated post. I had planned to sit down earlier this week and write about last year and my plans for this, but circumstances somewhat overtook me. When our New Year guests left, Hudson, my guide dog, became suddenly very ill. On the evening of the 2nd January I found myself at the emergency vets while he had surgery. I am pleased to report that he is now recovering well and should soon be back to full health.

In summary, in 2016 I lost my job and my right eye! Neither of which I miss in the slightest as both caused me a lot of pain and anguish!

My plans for this year? To find plenty of voluntary work to discover what I am good at. 20 plus years of computer support is enough to kill off any imagination you might have around work! Ideally, when I find something, I’d like to think I’ll be able to find someone to pay me to do it. While I’m not working, I’d like to improve my writing skills and persuade my consultant to remove my other eye before it gets unbearably painful.

Have a good one everyone!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May I Be One of the Last to Wish my Readers a Happy New Year!

  1. Torie says:

    HI Mell. Happy new year to you too.

    I am soryy to hear about Hudson, but i am glad he is on the mend now.

    Sorry to hear that your left eye may have to come out, but hopefully it’ll come out before you have any pain with it.

Leave a Reply

