Little Cry of Anguish

Whilst out with Hudson this afternoon I had to walk down a narrow piece of pavement, past a bus queue. In doing so, I accidently brushed shoulders with a woman. The reaction was ridiculous in the extreme! She let out what I can only describe as a little cry of anguish. This got me thinking.

Did I hurt her? Certainly not, it was literally a brush of clothing, not even a small bump.

Did something nasty come off my scruffy blind coat onto her haute couture outfit? Again not! Firstly my coat isn’t scruffy, it’s actually new! Very clean and very purple and very nice! And, if you’re catching a bus in Arnold then you’re probably not wearing Haute Couture. On second thoughts, I didn’t check! Maybe something nasty came off her coat onto me!

Maybe she was afraid she’d catch something? After all, blindness is highly contagious and should they really be allowed out?

I’ll never know what the anguish was all about. Sometimes I worry about why people find us so different and almost abhorrent?

I haven’t got the head space for it today though so here is where I leave it!

I wonder what she’s thinking this evening?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Comment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Cry of Anguish

  1. Lynn says:

    Perhaps she was trying to do the right thing and give Hudson enough space to do his job, and got upset when she couldn’t. I hope it was something like that.

    >

  2. Torie says:

    The only thing i can think of is perhaps she had a learning disability? The only reason i mention this is when i was at school and i’d brush another kid, they would quite often burst in to tears because someone walked in to them. Very odd 🙂

Leave a Reply

