The Bear Cross – Review

I’ve never written a review on TripAdvisor before but was prompted to do so by recent visit to the Bear Cross in Bournemouth. Fortunately possibly for this establishment I can’t get TripAdvisor to work with a screen reader so was unable to post the review.

Here’s what I wrote.

Review Title: Appalling Service and Attitudes

I visited this restaurant last week with friends. Three of us had guide dogs and 1 person used a wheelchair. We advised them of this when booking. Despite there being many free tables we were taken to the very far end of the restaurant and seated at what was clearly a folding plastic table with a cloth on it. It was so far pushed into an alcove that the staff could not walk round the table to serve us all. I am blind and although I asked several times for the staff to pass me plates so that I could pass them along, and held my hand out for the plates, they would only interact with the sighted people at our table. Those of us who were blind were spoken about as ‘he’ and ‘she’ and not spoken directly to. When we left the staff asked our sighted friend if we all lived together and wasn’t it marvellous that we were out. I have never felt so degraded, de-valued or insulted. I won’t be returning. This to me was only one step up from being refused access on account of having a guide dog.

I gave the restaurant 1 out of 5 for service, value and 2 out of 5 for the food which actually wasn’t that special.

Please share as to me, this type of treatment, although we were not refused access, is not acceptable. Disabled people have as much right to be in restaurants as anyone else and our money, believe it or not, is worth exactly the same as everyone else’s!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Comment, Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

