The Sound of Silence

Yes a great song but not what I’m writing about here.

For the last 30 hours my husband has been totally silent. This in itself is no mean feat as he likes a good waffle. He is doing it to raise money for Cancer Research UK as someone pledged £25 if he could stay silent for 36 hours! So he’s doing it.

However, for us as a couple the effects have been far more difficult than we imagined. As a blind couple who talk a lot it has been virtually impossible! It has been stressful as so much of our relationship relies on communication. Without being able to communicate verbally we have been very limited.

I would go so far as to say that it has put a strain on our mood. Without being able to see facial expressions I have no idea what he is thinking because I can’t hear it in his voice. I don’t think either of us will embark on a sponsored silence again! Not ever!

Having said that, if it raises money for Cancer Research UK which is a brilliant and essential cause, then it can only be a good thing.

Thank you so much to those who have already sponsored him, and if you haven’t and would like to, we’d appreciate it so much, however much or little you can give.

If you click the link below, you’ll be taken to our Just Giving page for the Ultimate 36, a 36 hour radio marathon we are staging this weekend for Cancer Research UK. Please take a look and perhaps you’d like to tun in.

I’ll be waking you up bright and early at 6 am on Sunday morning if you’d like to join me.

Thanks to everyone for your support.

http://www.justgiving.com/theultimate36

x

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

