Post Operation Day 2

I’ve had the operation and all has gone to plan so far.

Immediately after the surgery I felt absolutely fine as I’d obviously had a lot of local anaesthetic injected around my eye so when I woke up there was absolutely no pain. I think Gav was quite surprised that I called him within an hour of getting back to the ward. As the hours went by though the pain kicked in. It’s not that horrible stinging eye pain which I’ve had for so long, it feels more like I’ve been thumped very hard in the face whilst having a bad dose of sinusitis!

I stayed in hospital overnight on Tuesday and was discharged just after breakfast the following day. I saw the surgeon just before I left and he said that my operation had been a great success and was a real textbook case which is good news. Yesterday I really didn’t feel particularly well and couldn’t settle to much at all. I also ended up having a bit of a sleep in the afternoon! The pain is bad but it’s manageable with pain killers so although it’s not very comfortable I’m really not too worried about it.

Today is day 2 after the surgery and all things considered, I really don’t feel too bad. I have a headache and my eye is uncomfortable but still manageable. I think it is improving a little as I am more aware of the feeling of my eyelids moving under the dressing, it just feels more normal somehow.

So, apart from leaving hospital yesterday, today will be my first foray into the great outdoors to vote in the referendum. A friend is going to take me which I’m very grateful for.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post Operation Day 2

  1. Torie says:

    I’m glad the pain is not too bad today. I hope the eye continues to heal.

Leave a Reply

