I couldn’t Hate the Tories More if I Tried

I currently have an eye condition called Filamentary Keratitis. Deposits form on the surface of my eye in the form of filaments which are tremendously painful. I can’t sleep for more than a couple of hours without waking up again in pain. Consequently, I can’t sit still during the day without falling asleep because I’m so tired. A lot of the time I can’t keep my eyes open. Pain killers rarely touch it and the only thing that gives any relief is a damned good cry. Because of this I can’t go out as exposure to fresh air or dust makes it worse. I can’t concentrate and I can’t work.

I first visited the hospital about this on 15th February and since then it has just got progressively worse. I was put on the urgent waiting list on 21st March for an operation to remove some stitches from a previous graft. However, as of yet, I have no date for the procedure. I phoned the hospital today and they couldn’t give me any information. Except that the waiting list is long.

Well I’m not surprised. It seems, like everywhere else, the hospital is running on a skeleton staff. I can’t get hold of my consultant’s secretary, or the waiting list co-ordinator and my consultant only operates on Wednesday mornings.

Yes I’m angry. I hate you David Cameron and I hate you Jeremy Hunt and the rest of the old boys network who surround you. The hospital staff have all been very supportive to me but their hands are tied. Without the resources necessary they can’t run a fully functional service and people are left to suffer. I’m usually fairly pragmatic about pain but this eye pain is like nothing I’ve ever felt before, I can’t see an end to it and right now I just wish someone could take my eye out and be done with it.

I’m at my whit’s end and don’t know what to do next. Would you let your families suffer like this? No of course you wouldn’t. But it’s just typical of so many things you are doing to us ordinary UK citizens.

I have no doubt that there are thousands of stories just like mine up and down the country right now.

Bastards

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

