Job Centre Plus

I would very much like to talk to the press about what happened to my husband at the job centre today. It is indicative of what is happening to disable people all over the country as a result of this evil coalition government’s attitude to disabled people, particularly those who do not have a job.

My husband is totally blind, as am I. He was made redundant at the end of April and since then has been actively looking for work. He spends hours each week filling in application forms, only to hear nothing from employers. It hasn’t been all bad though, he has had a few interviews which many people in these times of recession haven’t had.

He went to the job centre today, having made an appointment to fill in some forms with a member of staff.

However, when he got there he was asked if someone at home could fill in the forms for him. He explained that I too am blind.

He then mentioned that I work, at which point it was suggested that I take the forms to work with me and ask someone to fill them in for me.

He was told that it would be virtually impossible to get the forms in an accessible format that he could read.

In short, here we have a highly motivated disabled person who wants to work. He is perfectly capable but occasionally requires a little extra support because of his disability. Here we also have a government who have systematically demoralised disabled people, branding us as work-shy scroungers and fakers. My husband will receive no benefits from mid November and tonight he is angry, upset and worst of all, de-motivated.

If anyone has any press connections, please pass this on. If you do not but would like to pass this around the social networks please do, I’d be very grateful.

I believe that as many of us as humanly possible need to get out there and be heard.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Job Centre Plus

  1. Lynn Wright says:

    Pity you are so far away, I would willingly come to your home and help you fill forms in. I am disabled, but am now retired. I fully understand where you are coming from as I help to fill in DLA/PIP/AA forms for people. Please don’t be demoralised show the Job centre people up, and write to your MP.
    Lynn

  2. Sarah S says:

    Complain – https://www.gov.uk/complain-jobcentre-plus.
    Job Centre plus aren’t exempt from their obligations under the Equalities Act (as far as I’m aware).
    http://www.rnib.org.uk/livingwithsightloss/yourrights/equalityact/Pages/equality_act_toolkit_service_providers.aspx
    Most of all, don’t let the b*ggers get you down.

Leave a Reply

