If you could have your sight, would you want it or not?

Many of my blind friends say that they would not want to have sight. They have adapted to being blind and some even feel that another sense would be sensory overload. If I could have mine, hell yeah! I’d jump at the chance. Not because I can’t cope as a blind person but because of the attitudes of people around me.

OK, so I’ve had a rubbish day at work followed by a few drinks, a recipe for bolshiness if ever there was one! But, this is my blog and I’m gonna use it!

Two things have wound me up to the max today. Firstly, my husband who is also blind visited the job centre this afternoon. An appointment had been made for him in order that they could help him fill in some forms. However, it was all very different when he got there. No, they didn’t have the forms in an accessible format and it would take months probably to get them. Could his wife fill in the forms for him? No, she’s also blind. Is there anyone else to fill in the forms? No, would it have been necessary to make an appointment if this was the case? Could his wife take the forms into work and ask a colleague to help her fill them in?

You what? As a blind person who is finding work more and more of a struggle each day due to increasing accessibility problems and a bigger workload than ever, I am now expected to take time out of my busy day, and take a colleague’s time out to fill in some forms. How many of you would ask a colleague to do this? No one? right. Apart from anything else, whatever happened to confidentiality?

After work we met a friend and went for something to eat. all was fine. Lovely food, good beer, friendly and helpful staff. time to wind down after a stressful day. Until that is, it was time to go home by taxi. We waited outside the pub with my guide dog visible. We’d told the company when making a booking that we had a guide dog with us. First the taxi drove past us and waited 20 or 30 yards away until we decided we should perhaps approach it and find out if it was a taxi. Once in the taxi the driver clearly wasn’t listening to my husband’s directions. When we got to our road we told the driver where our house was. He didn’t stop when we reached it, despite us asking him to do so and telling him to back up. He took us to the top of the road and stopped by a row of garages.

So I got out of the car without saying anything, and yes, I may have given him the finger as he drove back past us.

Some days things are more difficult than others and yes, today is a bad day, but both of those issues arose because we are blind.

would I have my sight if I could? I’d jump at it!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you could have your sight, would you want it or not?

  1. blindman75 says:

    Hello. Quite apart from the fact that that you would certainly experience an attitudenal difference if you, that is to say, colectively had sight,

    One of the problems is in fact sensory overload. This is not just a myth. to suddenly have one sense after a whole life of not having it, would be just that. I personally detest taxi drivers who will not listen and have been known not to pay a few when they’ve had the nerve to charge me more than is strictly necessary. I had one follow me to my house because I refused to pay him as he’d charged me 50 bucks for a 10 dollar wait and return journey. I simply told him that he was riping me off and that he could kindly go do things with himself that are not printable on a public forum such as this.

    The other thing you need to take into account also is the meer fact of having to retrain your brain to recognise printed text. As someone who had limited sight when I was younger, I personally wouldn’t find this a hassle and if I had my sight back wouldn’t find it too much of a struggle, apart from reading speed. but, again, I could likely pick that up with a little practise. I realise that the brain is a remarkable organ but, the people that are controled by said organ sometimes aren’t capable of coaping with as drastic a change as suddenly gaining a lost sense back. from a purely accessibility stand point, I’d have my sight back. from the standpoint of attitude, I’d have my sight back, if it meant I wouldn’t have to ask ignorant or arrogant people for help or directions and get told in no uncertain terms sometime what pleasures I can enjoy by myself, I’d have my sight back. but, practically and realistically? There’s a lot more to it than just gaining one’s sight. I certainly wouldn’t mind trying some of the advances in medical technology and research if I could afford it, but, at the end of the day, I’m happy with my lot in life. I’m upright every day, I’m still breathing, I don’t have to look at some truely ugly stuff in this world and I have the most wonderful friends a person could ever ask for. It ain’t all roses, but it’s my lifeand I’m happy to live it, even if there’s a chance of gaining my sight back.

    Shaun Oliver Email: blindman75@gmail.com Mobile: +61414328221 Skype: brailledude Twitter: blindman75

    “All that is gold does not glitter; Not all those who wander are lost.”

Leave a Reply

