You’re damned if you do and damned if you don’t

I heard something today which has made me really cross. Whichever way we turn at the moment we are met with the rhetoric, fuelled by the government and the press, that disabled people are work shy scroungers and must be made to go out to work and are costing the government in benefits we are fraudulently claiming.

My husband who is blind was made redundant in April and since then he has been applying for jobs at the rate of at least five a week and taking his evidence to the Job Centre when he goes to sign on. Additionally he has asked for an appointment with the Disability Employment Adviser. Get this! He has been told that he cannot have an appointment as he has been applying for jobs so is not entitled to any extra help.

So once again, these government departments are not realising the problems faced by blind people. If my husband were to do nothing he’d be branded a work shy scrounger, but because he has put in the effort, he is told to get lost and get on with it, despite the tremendous barriers blind people face in the employment market.

This government make me sick.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

