Hospital Follow-Up

Had a fairly mixed day yesterday with regard to my follow-up at the hospital.

I booked hospital transport because I can, and once I’d persuaded the driver that I wasn’t an alien because no one had told him I was blind, we went on our way. I got there massively early, but amazingly enough, I was seen early! Despite telling the hospital countless times that my surname has changed, I was still called in as Melanie Spooner. The first question the doctor asked me was whether I had heard when my operation would be yet. At which point I asked him, with a smile, whether in fact he was reading the right notes. We then had the usual battle of him asking me to move my eyes, me telling him I can’t him telling me to try. At which point I said that if he wasn’t going to accept that I don’t even have any perception of what voluntary eye movement would feel like, there was no point in continuing with the examination.

So, he adopted a new approach, one that I haven’t come across before. This was to give me some anaesthetic drops then manually move my eye around with his fingers. It didn’t really hurt although it felt very strange. He took my pressure, which was 22, 2 down from what it was on Friday, said the graft is fine and that he’d see me in a month.

I then asked if I could have a prescription for one of the drops I’m using as I’ve managed to break mine slightly and it comes out rather fast. He said I couldn’t, they don’t give prescriptions, I’d have to go to the pharmacy. I told him that I’d been issued prescriptions in the past as the hospital is huge and I had no idea where the pharmacy was. He said it’d be too much paperwork. OK, I said, perhaps someone could take me to the pharmacy! Funny how quickly the prescription was forthcoming after that!

After an hour and a half wait for transport home I eventually got back here. As the evening wore on I got worse and worse eye pain until about half past nine when I took two double strength ibuprofen and went to bed. The pain was awful, almost as bad as it had been after the surgery. Fortunately the Ibuprofen worked and I went to sleep. I woke up at 6:30 this morning to see Gav off to work. Went back to bed after having some cereal and my eye drops, and the next I knew was that it was mid day and my next eye drop alarm was going off on my phone! I couldn’t believe I’d slept so long!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

