Wedding Day

I can’t say I slept very well at all the night before the wedding. It seemed very odd in our large hotel room on my own. As we were all staying at the same hotel, it was agreed that I would go to breakfast with the girls at 8, and Gav would go with the guys at 9. When I got down there, Val, Rachel, Corie and Jot were there and we shared a bottle of Champagne which they’d bought for the occasion. I did also manage to actually eat some breakfast which I wondered if I’d be able to.

After breakfast I had a near miss going back to my room as I heard Gav and some of the others coming round the next corner and only just managed to scuttle into the room, slamming the door behind me, before I was discovered. I felt like a little kid who’d been caught somewhere where she shouldn’t have been!

The ceremony was at half past eleven, so I had time for a few minutes in the fresh air with Corie and her dog before I started getting ready in earnest. Once they were ready, Corie came to make tea, keep me calm and help me into my dress, Val to do my hair and make-up and Rachel to dispense chocolate. Thanks so much girls, it was wonderful to have you there!

At quarter past eleven, Val and Rachel went down to take their places, and Corie waited with me as she was to act as my witness and come in with me. At that point, Jot came up to take the first of many photos that she would take throughout the day. Then I’m not sure what happened. The registrar came up to say that we should wait where we were until everyone was ready. Afterwards Gav told me that he’d waited ages and I really don’t understand why I’d had to wait as being late isn’t my style and I hadn’t intended to do it, even on my wedding day!

We went downstairs, Jot taking pictures as we went, as I had it in my mind that I’d like a picture of me descending the staircase. As near to grandeur as I’ll ever get!

My friend, and singing teacher, Christine and her husband Dennis were singing at the ceremony and as I got to the bottom of the stairs they started the first song, The Rose. That was enough to start me off! I had to take tissues from a random passing woman who very kindly offered them and I was so pleased that I’d had my eyelashes tinted so that I wouldn’t have to wear mascara. I’d have had panda eyes before I even started!

So then it was time to go in. I walked up to the front where Gav was standing, took hold of his hand and suddenly felt very calm. I know that probably sounds a bit cheesy, but I just knew that this was where I wanted to be above all else and suddenly I felt in control and confident.

That feeling lasted only a short while, until it was time for me to sing A Love Until the End of Time. I’d chosen to sing this in place of a reading, but hadn’t told Gav, in case I got to the day and couldn’t do it! Listening to the recording it’s not one of my best efforts, but a tight strapless dress and nerves don’t lend themselves to good breath control! Apparently there wasn’t a dry eye in the house!

The ceremony was lovely. Christine and Dennis sang Always,, followed by Always There while we signed the register, and You raise Me Up as we walked out. It was so lovely to have them singing as they were obviously so pleased to be doing it.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

