Before the Wedding

I had great ideas of recording Audio Boos during the wedding week, but somehow didn’t get round to it. Recording audio just doesn’t come naturally to me. So having not done it, I’ll have to do my best to write about it. We do of course have some fantastic audio recorded by our friend Steve B.

On Friday the 13th April, we travelled down to the Cliffden hotel in Teignmouth where we would be having a week’s holiday, to include our friends Lee and Jess’s fifth wedding anniversary lunch on the 14th and our wedding on the 18th. When we arrived at the hotel, I approached the reception desk and suddenly realised I virtually had my face in an enormous bouquet of flowers which I learnt were for me from Gav and had just arrived. That was a lovely surprise and the flowers lasted the whole week. Incidentally, they were from a florist called Flowers by Lesley in Teignmouth which I would highly recommend. They also did the flower arrangements for the tables at our wedding which were stunning

After a quick unpack, we met with The person who had been key in organising everything for our wedding, and realised at that point that she had it more than under control and we could sit back and enjoy ourselves for the next few days without any worrying about arrangements.

On the Saturday we went to Lee and Jess’s wedding anniversary lunch which was lovely. We met a few of their friends and had a great time with them. It was the Grand National in the afternoon and we even won a few quid on that so even more reason to celebrate!

Sunday was a very lazy day. Lazing around a chatting, going for a swim, although it was probably more of a float around really and for me, an early night with a book. An excellent chance to re-charge before all the wedding guests arrived on the Monday.

On Monday morning we had to visit the registrar who would be officiating at the wedding, to finalise everything for the ceremony. This was very easy to do and the registrar who we met liked the sound of our choices of music and our plans so much that she changed her work schedule for Wednesday so that she could do our wedding herself! In the afternoon, most of our wedding guests arrived. Most are friends who we don’t see as often as we’d like to as they all live in different places around the country, so we spent a lot of time catching up. This went on well into the evening and well down a few glasses of wine!

Tuesday was, by choice another quiet day. The only real effort I made was to go and get my nails painted. I went to a lovely little beauty salon in Teignmouth called Inner Image. I picked them out of the yellow pages, simply because I liked the name but was thrilled with the job she did on my nails. The varnish lasted well over two weeks which I was very impressed with.

A few drinks with our guests on the Tuesday night, then Gav went off to share with one of his mates for the night and I wouldn’t see him till the following day at the ceremony.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

