Jasmine – Sad Times

I’ve had Jasmine for just over two years now but have reached the decision that I can’t progress any further with her. Despite the length of time I have worked her, I don’t feel that she has settled into a consistent pattern of working and I doubt that she will. All through our time together I have been working on one problem or another. Often small and on its own insignificant, but there have been a whole chain of them.

About a month ago, she started working very peculiarly, pulling excessively and favouring the left shoreline all the time. I hoped that the Christmas break might help her relax and that things would improve on our return to work. However, it didn’t and whatever I tried, she didn’t show any signs of improving.

Added to this is the fact that if she is over corrected she will snap at me, often making contact with my hands with her teeth. She has done this twice to me since Christmas. She knows she shouldn’t do it, but somehow doesn’t seem to be able to stop herself.

So, at the end of last week I made the decision to return her to GDBA. It was a decision I didn’t take lightly as it is impossible to work a dog without becoming attached to it. The house is very empty without her and despite all her problems, I loved her very much and will miss her horribly.

I have recommended strongly to GDBA that they don’t attempt to re-train her and I know the GDMI who is working with us is in full agreement. I’m not so sure about the area manager though. Jasmine needs consistency in her life and wouldn’t get this with re-training.

My next real problem will be finding a home for her. I have been asking friends to see if they know anyone. I am very reluctant to allow GDBA to do this as when they rehome their dogs, the new owners are under no obligation to remain in touch with the original owner. I don’t need regular contact, but I do want to know what happens to Jasmine in her future life.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jasmine – Sad Times

  1. Linda Gonse says:

    Barry Toner RT the link to your blog on Twitter. I’m not sure how you read these comments. Maybe with text to speech? My dad had guide dogs. I wonder if Jasmine might have had a physical ailment that was causing her to snap at you. Sometimes the dog has mental fatigue, too. You were right to caution against retraining. She probably doesn’t have the temperment or even the mental capacity to handle it all. Poor baby. I’m so glad you are planning to keep in touch with her. Where does this leave you, though? Without a guide dog? I also have both a Twitter account and a WordPress blog. @lgonse and lgonse.wordpress.com. I will follow your blog and hope to hear followup on Jasmine.

Leave a Reply

