I Used to be Able to Cross the Road

I don’t know if other blind or partially sighted people would agree with me, but I’m finding it more and more difficult to cross the road. I think it’s a combination of there being a higher volume of traffic on the roads, many car engines are much quieter than they used to be and motorists, like everyone else, just seem to be more impatient and less mindful of other road users and pedestrians. Of course there are always exceptions but these are few and far between

This morning on my way to work I crossed a side road with the main road on my right. When I say main road, it isn’t actually particularly busy. The side road was clear and the main road was slowing up to approach a roundabout, so I crossed. I was about a third of the way across when a car came from the other side of the main road, and because I was on his side of the road, he went down the side road on the wrong side, narrowly missing my dog’s nose and the car that was coming the other way. This led me to wonder, was it really necessary for that driver to rush down that road so quickly, on the wrong side of the road? The main road isn’t busy so he or she could have waited till it was clear and I was out of the road. No harm was done except that I had that lurch in the pit of my stomach caused by knowing that I had had another near miss with a car.

In the past I’ve had cars come so close that they have brushed against me. I’ve had cars slam on the brakes because I just haven’t heard them due to the constant noise of other vehicles around me, and of course I’ve had people shout and swear at me.

Every near miss that I have makes me just that little less sure about crossing the roads. I’m fearful that this situation will only get worse in the future with the introduction of silent electrical cars and continued impatience.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Used to be Able to Cross the Road

  1. Damon Lord says:

    As a visually impaired person, I think the worst experience I had crossing the road was when I was waiting to cross the road, cane in front of me. A passing driver in a car pulled up and seemingly helpfully opened his window and said: “it’s okay, you can cross now.” Trusting their seemingly kindly words, I stepped out… and I nearly got hit by a passing lorry. A passenger in the car then shouted out to the car driver: “nearly got him! We’ll get one next time!” They laughed and drove off. I am sure it was their intention to falsely lure me into a position of danger and cause an accident. I have since learned to ignore or refuse people’s advice when crossing the road (unless I know them, of course).

Leave a Reply

