Happy New Year

It’s been a while since I wrote in this journal and there’s a lot to catch up on. So what better day to start with good intentions than January 1st. Since my last entry we’ve had the coldest December for 110 years, I’ve had pneumonia and a marriage proposal!

On 27th November it snowed and it carried on snowing! Being a southerner I haven’t ever experienced particularly deep snow but I think we had a good six inches and it stayed for at least a couple of weeks. So it was out with the spikes again less than a year after the last time and off to work with Jasmine who coped with the snow as if it were just any other day. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, I am so proud of that little dog and how well she has settled to her work in the year that I have had her. We had a brief reprieve from the snow in the middle of December but it came back again, not so deep but with sub-zero temperatures by day and night. It seems so warm now with the temperature around 4 of 5 degrees during the day.

On Christmas day, my partner asked me to marry him. He’d chosen a ring and presented it to me. I was blown away! I’d speculated about what he might give me for Christmas, but never in a million years would I have guessed that he was going to propose to me. We have had mixed responses from my family but a far more positive one from my partners. Our friends have been absolutely delighted for us which means everything to me. As yet we have no plans. That will be something to discuss and plan in January. My ring is gorgeous. Three diamonds in a white gold setting.

Just before Christmas I went back to the hospital to see the consultant to discuss next steps following the disasters with the contact lenses. They have agreed to do a corneal graft some time this year. I’m not entirely sure about going through this operation, but figured it will be easier to take myself off the waiting list if I change my mind, rather than saying no now and then trying to get back on the list later.

So, apart from a week off work with pneumonia, not much else to write about. Happy new year to those who have read this far!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

