Three Very Different Concerts

As I’ve said many times, we’re very well served in Nottingham for concert venues and we’re fortunate in being able to visit them frequently.

In the last month we have been to three very different concerts. The first was entitled “Last Night of the Autumn Proms”. We chose this one as my partner had never heard a live orchestra play, and I assumed correctly that the programme would be light and well known. Everything from Verdi to Elgar with all the last night of the proms favourites at the end. The Manchester Concert Orchestra were great and their director very informative and amusing between pieces.

A week later we saw Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark who are always great to see live. They have a new album, the name of which temporarily escapes me. It’s been fairly vociferously criticised as being too much like their earlier albums. I say, if you love old OMD, buy it, you won’t be disappointed.

Finally this week we saw A-Ha who came to Nottingham Arena as part of their farewell tour. Morten Harket sings as well as he did 25 years ago and it was sad to think that they won’t be playing live any more. A few cynics have said that they’ll be back for their reunion tour in 5 years’ time. If that’s the case, bring it on, I’ll be at that one too!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

