Demoralising Day

Yesterday was a bad day. One of those days that started off with a lot of promise then went down hill rapidly.

Scripts have been written for my screen reader so that I can access a new call management system that we’ll be using at work. So, new shiny scripts in hand, I went for the training yesterday. I’m not sure where I stand legally if I say what I really think of the guys who wrote the scripts and the company they work for on this page, so suffice it to say that they are total cowboys and the scripts are nowhere near complete or fit for purpose. I’d have no hesitation in dissuading anyone to use this particular company and those people who I have made acquaintance or friendship with in the access technology industry will know that it’s not you!

So a whole day’s training lost and scripting still not done. The go live date for the system is 13th December. I had hoped to be up to speed with the programme, same as everyone else, but I guess that was too much to wish for.

A few minutes after I came out of the training non-event, I got a call from the optometry department at the hospital. They can’t do anything further with that contact lense I had made for me. So, there’s a lens sitting there that would help, and they’re not going to do anything further with it.

There are always barriers, and people wonder why I stress.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Demoralising Day

  1. Alan says:

    Hi – your favourite cynic here!

    I read this with interest as I fight a lot of in equality battles myself and I can understand why you stress. My thought was – why stress? There is inequality in every aspect and facet of society and it’s just not possible to win every battle. Wouldn’t it be better to try to fight the ones you can? I’ve fought many battles over the year the vast majority of which I’ve lost not because they weren’t good things to battle over but because I was never going to win them which, by the way, doesn’t mean you shouldn;t fight! I’m sure like me you’re getting tired and the spirit is willing but the body and mind are following less willingly. Also, the cunulative effect of the stress could make you very ill as it has done with me three times in the last twenty years.

    Don’t get me wrong, it is right to want to fight inequality but do we all really thing the person that designs the dodgy script, won’t do any more with the contact lense, sanctions the use of a system that they know is inaccessible to me or puts me into performace management is really thinking or giving a fig about us. They sleep at night not actually caring particularly. Are those people really worth the stress and the pitential damage to health?

    I, like you, ponder these issues but there will always be barriers – as you get rid of one another crops up – we will never live in a barrier free society – far better to savour the victories we get by chosing them don’t you think!

  2. melspooner says:

    I see what you’re saying but I’m really going to have to try to fight this latest inequality in the workplace otherise I simply won’t be able to do my job. I hope it turns out to be one of the victories you speak of.

  3. Alan says:

    Good luck. I have similiar issues myself with technology at the moment but with me there’s a wider picture of who they’re trying to get rid of.

Leave a Reply

