A Miscellaneous One

Went to the eye department for another appointment last Thursday. They’d managed to lose my notes so I had to wait an hour while they located them before I could be put in the queue to see the doctor. With time on one’s hands and only Twitter to provide amusement one tends to observe what is going on around one.

Two things struck me. Firstly, you clearly have to have good sight to be a patient in the eye department for this reason: its all colour coded! Sit in the blue chairs, the beige chairs or the orange chairs! Get in the wrong chair and lord alone knows what might happen. I didn’t allow for that to happen, but was met with considerable surprise when I asked if I could be shown to the blue chairs!

Secondly, as I was sitting fairly close to the reception desk, I couldn’t help but over-hear people’s dates of birth. Two women arrived during my hour’s wait who were born in 1917 and who both seemed very sprightly. If I’d had to guess their ages, I wouldn’t have put them in their 90s, either of them. I hope I’m like that in my 90s.

This morning I’ve been thinking about tradesmen and how profoundly annoying they can be at times. I asked my neighbour yesterday if the window cleaner had been around lately as my windows are very dirty and I haven’t seen him. apparently, the window cleaner had had a row with the neighbour because he said he couldn’t get access to the back of the houses when an extension was being built which was actually a lie, he didn’t try. Consequently, because of said altercation, he no longer goes to my neighbour’s house, or to mine which you gain access to down the same alleyway. Great, so now I have to look for another window cleaner. There are a few in Yellow Pages, but what worries me slightly is that I end up ringing up the old window cleaner as I never knew his name! Actually I won’t miss him as I know for a fact he did me out of the right change once, giving me change for a £10 note instead of a £20 and arguing with me like you would with a five year old that I really didn’t know what I was talking about because I couldn’t see it and he could. He’s lucky I kept him on for so long!

Then there’s the garden. I have the worst luck with gardeners! I’ve had five in the four years I’ve been here. They’ve all left for their own reasons, I hasten to add, apart from one who I binned off for being totally unreliable! The latest one is going to have to go too. I’ve been paying him for two hours’ work every fortnight all summer, but apart from cutting the grass and telling me off for letting a magnolia bush die, I really don’t know what he’s been playing at as the greenery is gradually and steadily encroaching on the paths and across the lawn. So I’ve wasted my money there and my parents will have to come up and cut everything back for me!

so that’s that. Not much more to say except that we’re off to Turkey in just over two weeks time and I can’t wait!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

