Another Hidden Cost of Disability

Any blind woman will know how virtually impossible it is to paint one’s own nails without sight. Some people will attempt clear varnish, but personally I don’t even do that, I’m a perfectionist I suppose.

This morning, being on a real low, I decided to cheer myself up so rang my local beauty salon to book an appointment to have my finger and toenails filed and painted. Fortunately I checked the price and was astounded that it was going to cost me £32. I don’t think so!

Some would argue that having one’s nails painted is a luxury, which it is, but if I were sighted, I’d go and buy some polish for a fiver and do it myself.

I have two choices now, I either pay up and have the nails done, or I don’t and accept it. I think I’m going to have to give it a swerve. £32 makes what some people would take for granted an unaffordable luxury.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Hidden Cost of Disability

  1. Val says:

    Hi Mel

    I know someone who’ll do them much cheaper than that. The nail art I had donw for my wedding cost me £5. My eyerbrows and lashes only cost me £12. We’ll have to sort out a pamper weekend very soon.

    Mind you £32 is a lot cheaper than London. I’ve paid £45 in the past.

    Cheers

    Val

  2. kaz says:

    hiya mel

    yes, its not cheap getting your nails done, i had some false tips done recently for a ball i was going to it cost me 35 pounds for hands and feet but its not something i can afford to do regularly which is a shame because i love having my nails done and find it hard to even file them and keep them looking nice myself.

Leave a Reply

