The Paddy Power Blind Football Advertisement

Here is a link to the advert for anyone who doesn’t know what I’m talking about.

http://youtube.com/w/?v=DEmA_QF30GI]

It was launched in May this year and aired extensively on channels such as Sky Sport in the run up and during the Football World Cup.

Despite over 1000 complaints to the Advertising Standards Authority, around 800 of which were related to animal cruelty and 200 to offence caused to blind people, the advertisement was allowed to go ahead. They stated that animal cruelty did not occur because the cat was shown to be unharmed. They also said that the advertisement promoted awareness of blind football.

I was one of the complainants, my reasons are stated below:

1. I love blind jokes. I tell them and I laugh about them, but I do it with my friends and family or other blind people. If a stranger came up to me in the street with a blind joke I would probably not find it funny. The reason for this is that I would not know the intent of the joke teller. I wouldn’t know if they were laughing with or at me. Paddy Power in a way represent that stranger.

2. Many members of the public have such a low or negative expectation of the capabilities of blind people that they would believe that a blind person would mistake a cat for a ball, simply because they both sounded a bell.

3. Disability sport, and particularly blind sport, has a very low profile in this country. People do not on the whole take it seriously or recognise the achievements of disabled sports men and women. Far from promoting blind football, this advertisement just laughs at it. There is nothing to show that these players are in fact representing England and to recognise their achievements.

Today I have recorded a piece for RNIB’s Insight Radio which they will play to a representative from Paddy Power and ask for comments.

I look forward to hearing what they have to say.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Paddy Power Blind Football Advertisement

  1. Ian Beverley says:

    Well summarised Mel. You’ve certainly stated my thoughts on the issue as well. Its a pity that you weren’t allowed to discuss the issue with the paddy power people themselves. The trouble is that they will defend what they’ve done because they cannot or should I say will not see it from our point of view.

    Additionally, there are a few blind people out there who think that the Paddy Power ad was funny. One accused me of not having a sense of humour for not liking it. My answer to them was ‘so you like being the but of ignorant humour yourself then?’.

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

