Jasmine Update

For anyone who doesn’t want to read about the intricacies of working with a guide dog, this post won’t be for you, so I’ll see you on the other side!

I realise its a while since I updated about Jasmine and there’s a bit to tell. Firstly, I changed her food from eukanuba in April as I don’t like the product. GDBA were adamant that they would not pay for James Wellbeloved which was my preferred choice for jasmine, having had such good results with it with Jade. They decided Jasmine should have Royal Canin Maxi Sensible so I agreed to try it. It certainly didn’t suit Jasmine. she drank large amounts of water and her spending routine all but broke down. I never knew when she would spend during the day and she often did it on walks which was detrimental to her work as I’ve been told to correct her if she does this. consequently neither of us were particularly relaxed on walks and jasmine started pulling me if we needed to change direction rather than guiding me.

When I finished the bag of royal Canin, I decided to buy a bag of James Wellbeloved myself and try it. the results were better than I could have hoped for. I get the impression that GDBA staff probably think that I’ve staged the whole thing but that wasn’t my intention. jasmine’s spending routine settled within a couple of weeks and her work is so much more relaxed. this is probably because I am so much more relaxed knowing that it is very likely that she won’t spend on walks.

Something happened the other day which made me realise that I should really start trusting this dog! I got off a train with her in Nottingham and started to walk the way I thought was the way out. jasmine was working really badly, hesitating and trying to refuse. after a short while I realised that I’d gone the wrong way, so turned her round. As soon as we were heading the correct way, her tail came up, she was really positive and happy. so, that was her way of telling me, “No you silly blindy, you’re going the wrong way … again!”

All in all, I feel that jasmine is calmer and happier. It has even been noticed by other people, so I’m very pleased.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jasmine Update

  1. Terri O'Shaughnessy says:

    Not sure about foods really, Uma has been on them all! She started off on royal canin german shephard, then moved on to royal canin adult, then james welbeloved and now is on eukanuba, which is having the same effect as james welbeloved. She doesn’t have the best spending but when on the JWD and Eukanuba she has been alot better and not spending on walks as much. Guide dogs can be a bit funny about you changing the foods as Uma currently has a anal gland infection from all the food changes and i have to have her anal sacks emptied on a monthly basis, i have to really try to leave it as long as i can before having them emptied as the more you have them emptied the more infected they get due to swelling which doesnt help them to empty them natually. Guide dogs didnt like me going on to james welbeloved but when i said my vet had recomended it, then they started paying out for me to have the james welbeloved. Must say on the james welbeloved Uma lost loads of weight and went down to 30kg and it just wouldnt go up, no mater how much food i put in her bowl. In the end she was having one and a half tins worth for each meal. on Eukanuba she has retained her weight and was 31.70kg last time and she is meant to be 33kg.

Leave a Reply

