Just When I Thought I’d Heard it All About Health and Safety

I’m Astounded! Almost lost for words but not quite! A blind acquaintance of mine who I follow on Twitter, visited a carpet shop this morning in order to buy a rug. The lady in the shop said she couldn’t sell him one because she wouldn’t want it on her conscience if he fell over it.

She presumably would be happy to sell rugs to other people, otherwise she’d have said that she didn’t sell them.

I don’t know whether to feel steaming angry about this or laugh somewhat hysterically. Again and again, people think its OK to influence our lives and put restrictions upon us purely because they are too stupid to actually think outside the box.

I do hope Ian will be blogging about this. His blog can be found at http://ianbev72.wordpress.com

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just When I Thought I’d Heard it All About Health and Safety

  1. Adam says:

    If I’d been a customer I would have both been incredibly amused at this person’s stratospheric stupidity to the point where I would assume that any insult I hurled at her would be justified as she barely comes under category of human being.

    Naturally I’d take my business elsewhere and let her know why, though unless it was her own company I doubt she’d care. Oh yes, I’d let her manager know why too, just so that he knew what an a business killing liability he was in fact employing.

    This goes beyond annoying – its almost cartoonshly funny, and its not as though carpets are a in a monopoly.

  2. Adam says:

    Read your post to Lynn who wonders whether if this woman was working for Guie Dogs, whether she’d allow anyone to qualify. What if you were to trip over your dog????

  3. melspooner says:

    Unbelievable isn’t it! I too would have taken my business elsewhere.

    come to think of it, my house is frought with dangers: a mat at both the front and back doors. Those little metal strips holding the carpet in place in door ways, and worst of all, those double glazed doors that you have to step up and over!

    • Ian Beverley says:

      Thanks for highlighting this issue Mel – I appreciate it.

      Thinking back on the whole issue, I must admit that I laugh more and more. People do get hung up on a whole load of stuff and this was just so riddiculous. I argued the point with her; basically saying I didn’t give a stuff about her concerns because after all I do know how to make informed decisions.

      Yep, I said I would go somewhere else. She didn’t like it, but pointing out that I was the customer then she had no come back.

      I’ve reflected on this and my dealings with the job centre in my latest blog.

      Thanks again

      Ian.

  4. Janet Tuggey says:

    Well I’ve taken the laughing hysterically approach here, because I just can’t believe I’ve just read this. I’m just amazed.

    And my home is full of hazards, dog toys and bones scattered all over the place for one thing.

Leave a Reply

