People Distracting my Guide Dog – Why I Hate It

That tinkling sound I just heard wasn’t the discreet coin dropping text alert I have set up for my office profile, no, it was the sound of a penny dropping in my head. Its just occurred to me that there is a good reason why I hate people distracting my guide dog when its working. This is beside the fact that it is rude, disruptive and disrespectful.

I was walking outside our office building just now and someone was nearby. I realised that they were walking almost sideways in an attempt to get a good look at the dog. The dog was clearly distracted by this so not working well.

So, said person was communicating with my dog. Not in an audible way that I could interact with. I’m sure if I’d challenged them they’d have said they weren’t doing anything. They were communicating visually, thus totally excluding me from the communication.

Yes, there are people out there who would like to interact with my dog, and those working dogs of other blind people, without ever once considering the blind handler, let alone afford them the respect of being included.

My message to these people is clear and harsh. If you can’t be bothered with the handler, back off the dog and mind your own business.

On the other hand, if you engage me in conversation, I’d be more than likely to want to interact with you and to allow my dog to.

Some would rightly ask me why I didn’t initiate a conversation with this person. My answer is this. I’m not an ambassador for blind people, but society expects me to be. I can’t always be sunshine and smiles despite people’s ignorance, I have busy or difficult days like everyone else. Therefore I figure that if I can’t trust myself to be polite when I open my mouth, its probably best to keep it closed and go on my way.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People Distracting my Guide Dog – Why I Hate It

  1. martin says:

    HI Mel. i hate people distracting working dogs too. and as a fellow blind person, if i can be said as such, i know how we are viewed by the sighted population, as ambasidors for our, sect as it were. we are not allowed off days, not allowed to be generally pissed with society, though are expected to accept the indesgressions of others and atitudes there of.

Leave a Reply

