Surprising Braille

I’d long since given up asking for anything from my employer in Braille, particularly after many fights about having Braille hand-outs at seminars and training days. The council has a Braille production office, but managers are more often than not unable, it seems, to submit their hand-outs early enough for them to be reproduced in Braille.

Someone in a silly little office somewhere has devised a new system for notifying the office if we are off sick. No longer do we ring our office, speak to someone who knows our workload and sort out any work that needs to be covered. Now we have to ring a faceless call centre somewhere in the far north of the county and inform them. They will then inform our department.

This procedure has today been sent to me in Braille. No request from me for this to be done. No real need for this though as I’d already seen it by Email.

At least I now have some ammunition though. Braille can be, and still is being reproduced by the council, so I’d like to see more of it please!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprising Braille

  1. ezziesworld says:

    Urgh! What a frankly useless and timewasting procedure.
    However, its about time you got Braille from that place, after all it is one of your ways of reading for goodness’ sake. Now your organisation has no excuse at all not to provide you with Braille.
    Especially as if you tried to go anywhere with it, any arbitrary body would look on that extremely harshly when they think that it can happen, but doesn’t.
    I’d hope so, at any rate.

  2. ezziesworld says:

    also, I’ve followed a bit of your lead and decided to blog over here too. Thanks for the rec.

Leave a Reply

