Noisy Neighbours

I know what this title will have conjured up in most people’s heads: young people, loud music, motorbikes, doors slamming at all hours of the day and night, etc etc.

Not in my case. I live on a quiet residential cul de sac with very little traffic and mainly owner occupied houses. I regularly hear next door’s television at such a pitch that I wouldn’t have to switch mine on to listen to the Weakest Link, the One Show, Eastenders, Holby City, and so on.

Saturday morning I had no plans. I therefore decided that I’d have a lie in as I’d had a busy week. This wasn’t to happen. Next door’s radio came on at 6:45 am, followed by their washing machine. The final straw which drove me from my bed at 8:35 am was someone using a petrol mower in their front garden a few houses down.

So much for my sleep in, but the olds would never listen if I said something. They go to bed early and get up early, and consider themselves virtuous for doing so. They forget the need for a weekend lie in for those of us who work all week and can’t sleep in or take an afternoon nap after lunch time trash TV.

Unlike the young who will grow out of their noisy behaviour, old people won’t be told and would consider me lazy for wanting to sleep after half past eight on a Saturday.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Noisy Neighbours

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified
    Hi Mel! Your rant in this here entry is totally justified as far as I’m concerned. It’s possible, with your neighbours being old, that they might be rather hard of hearing, which could explain the high volume of their radio and their TV. But that doesn’t alter the fact that they are being inconsiderate to you but there is perhaps nothing you can do about it.

  2. ezzie_j says:

    ugh I hate noisy neighbours. The thing people don’t realise is, most walls these days are made of tissue paper! We have similar trouble, with the beat of someone’s music coming through at all ours of the day and night, with about what sounds and feels like 200% extra bass!
    You could put a nice letter through the door.
    There are certain times that if noise happens its breaking the law. sorry if I’m writing like you#re thick Mel, its not my intention. But you’re perfectly right to get the council etc involved if this is bothering you.
    Another thing you can do is canvas the house that’s the other side of theirs. See if they get the same problem.
    I hope you get somewhere with this.

  3. exactly the same
    hugs i get exactly the same as you, i can hear my neighbour’s tv next door to me and the same, they’re elderly. they also shout out in the middle of the night and day. just randem noises and they’re elderly too and, the same, would call me lazy for sleeping in past 8 over the weekend. you have my sympathies.

Leave a Reply

