One Week On

Its a week now since I started to voice my dissatisfaction about both the voting system for blind people, and our individual treatment at the polling station.

this afternoon, I went to see our MP, Vernon Coaker. I told him of our experience and he has agreed to write to the council to add weight to our complaint. I also asked him to consider access issues for blind and partially sighted people, particularly such things as the Talking buses Campaign if they are brought to his attention. As I pointed out to him, access issues are very different for blind and partially sighted people than they are for people with physical disabilities. finally, I asked him if, should I decide to take my campaigning further, would he be happy if I were to contact him in the future and ask him to add his name to my campaign. he said he would be. so a fairly productive meeting, particularly as I have made more influential people aware of the situation.

So, my article should appear in the Evening Post tomorrow and after that I have to decide where to take this next.

I have some ideas but haven’t formed anything concrete yet.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Week On

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hope your mP is true to hhis word. I don’t trust politicians. Good luck with your struggle.
    Eva

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Glad your MP was so suuportive
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that your local MP was very supportive of your efforts to campaign for increased accessibility for blind people to voting and to other public services: here’s hoping that he will continue to support these very worthy causes as he said he would! All the best with the continuation of your campaign, too!

Leave a Reply

