Small progress

This will be a fairly brief update. since my last entry about the fiasco that was my experience at the polling station, I have:

Written to RNIB, Scope, Action for Blind People, the electoral Commission, Gedling Borough council, the BBC, the Guardian, and various celebrities on Twitter.

I have spoken to the Nottingham evening Post, who think they may well write an article about this, I have given an interview to In Touch and I have made an appointment to visit Vernon Coaker MP on Friday to discuss this.

I also spoke to the managing Director of PakFlatt who manufacture the tactile voting device, and expressed my concerns regarding its design. I was concerned to learn that there are instructions clearly printed on the back of each template and that that the template should be cut down to fit the size of form being used, which wasn’t apparent when we went to vote last week. He had lots of ideas for better devices, but unfortunately, councils won’t pay for them and have even on some occasions suggested that this cheap solution is too expensive and unnecessary.

now why doesn’t that surprise me.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small progress

  1. good luck
    oh wow good luck for friday hope things go well. Will be listening out for in touch tomorrow. That doesn’t surprise me where councils are concerned. isn’t it against the law for anyone to see your ballit paper apart from the person voting?

  2. fleurette67 says:

    All the best
    Hi Mel! I wish you all the best in your continuing efforts to make it possible for blind people in the UK to vote independently. Problem is, you’re up against some really stubborn idiots, I mean those who don’t read instructions, and those who use cost as an excuse for not making voting accessible. Even though I have no vote in the UK, because I’ve lived abroad too long, I very much hope that complaining and raising awareness of blind people’s voting difficulties will go at least some way towards making it possible for blind people in the UK to cast their votes independently in future elections. Good on ya for all your hard work in publicising this issue!

Leave a Reply

