the Derby Music Festival

I can’t believe its a year since my first performance at the festival. I went in for two classes again this year.

The first was the Female Solo Vocalist. I was warned before I went in that this would be a difficult class and to expect some stiff competition. there were three of us. the other two chose classical pieces, and I sang Send in the clowns. I was pleased with my performance, and the theatre we sang in had far better acoustics than the other room they use at the festival, so I enjoyed it. the marking was very close, but I was blown away to realise that the adjudicator had awarded the other two singers joint second place with 85 marks, and me first place with 86. what pleased me the most was the fact that she said she could really see in my face that I was singing from the heart. I often worry about what my face is doing as I’m not a great actor, so that was very encouraging.

the second class was Songs from the shows, in which I sang the Colours of my Life from Barnum. This was a song which I’d only sung once with my singing group and thought might be a good idea. On reflection, it wasn’t. I didn’t feel happy with it and now that the festival is over, I don’t think I’ll be keeping that one in my repertoire! I got 84 marks for it and a fourth place, which I really didn’t deserve, particularly as I had to be prompted at one point.

so, having given back the Novice cup which I won last year, I now have a piece of silver to replace it which I’m well pleased with. all thanks to my singing teacher and her confidence in me!

next landmark will be grade 5 in the autumn, and hopefully some concerts along the way.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the Derby Music Festival

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Commiserations for one song, well done for the other!
    Hi Mel! It sounds like you had mixed fortunes at the song festival you went to last weekend, but, as you tell us here, there was good as well as bad in it. Commiserations for not doing very well in the “songs from the shows” category, but congratulations for winning the “solo female vocalist” category! It’s also good to be told that you looked like you really meant the words you were singing when you did “send in the clowns”. All the best for your future singing, either for yourself, with a group, or in another competition!

Leave a Reply

