A Sad Realisation

The battles with Jasmine are on-going. At the moment she’s developed a bit of a spending issue. She’s reluctant to spend at home and not at all bothered about stopping dead in her tracks when working to spend. I need to teach her that spending in harness is totally unacceptable. I’ve been advised to tell her off big style when she does this, but if I tell Jasmine off too much when she’s working she gets upset and the tension builds up.

So on the one hand I’ve got a dog that appears outwardly to be very strong and robust and highly determined. However, too much telling off and she goes to pieces.

Emotionally she’s stil very complex and I wonder if this will ever change. I’ve had her five months now and wonder if she will in fact settle, or whether working with her is always going to be working through one issue after another.

I have this feeling that her and I won’t make the full eight years but hope I’ll read back after that time and prove myself wrong.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sad Realisation

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Sorry about yet another problem with Jasmine!
    Hi Mel! I’m sorry that you have yet another problem with Jasmine, but I very much hope that it can be resolved. I also hope that you end up being proved wrong about not being able to keep Jasmine for the full eight years due to all these issues which keep coming up: hopefully she’ll settle down completely, in the not-too-distant future.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Don’t get too despondent
    Mel, as you know, there are sometimes a number of issues to get through in the first 6-12 months with a new dog and at times it’s hard work. I qualified around the same time as you and have obviously experienced the same highs and lows. Don’t want to teach grandma to suck eggs, but the first thing to do is getting her spending at hoem again in the dog run. Sounds like you need to keep her in for a weekend and make sure that’s where she spends over those couple of days. You may want to consider feeding patterns, once or twice a day? Times of feeding? Type of food? Make sure your local team is helping you in all aspects and not just creating an on-going battle that’s stressing you both every time you leave the house. Good luck.
    Kev

Leave a Reply

