Jasmine is maturing

have just had two weeks’ holiday where jasmine has really been taken out of her normal routine. Far from upsetting her, I feel she has really excelled in that time.

the first week she had a chance to relax and put her paws up while I had three days with my parents. In that time she got to free run with jade which she really enjoyed, whilst maintaining a good standard of recall.

then the fun really began for her. We had five days down in Teignmouth this week with mainly blind people, so jasmine had to work. She learnt her new routes very quickly, even finding her way back from places she had only visited once. I also went to Birmingham new Street station again with her and she remembered the way to the customer relations office, having done it a few weeks ago. I even worked her onto a couple of boats! i hope no one from Guide dogs is reading! I’m really starting to trust her now.

Because we were staying in a hotel, she had lots of opportunities for good social behaviour in restaurants etc and she is getting better and better at this all the time.

So, the little dog might at last be maturing!!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jasmine is maturing

  1. welshgeordie says:

    Very well done
    Nice one Mel. See I keep telling you that you and Jasmine make a great team don’t I? You guys just proved it again. It must be so liberating to have a dog that works as well as she does. Good on you guys.
    Cheers,
    Simon

    • melspooner says:

      Re: Very well done
      Hi Simon, Yes, it is very liberating. I had my doubts at times during the early weeks that Jasmine was particularly capable. I realise now just how capable she can be and believe that with maturity and experience she will only get better and better.

Leave a Reply

