How do you know if your Vet is a Good One?

Took jasmine for her check up and booster vaccination today. Was disappointed in the vet that I saw and really couldn’t tell if jasmine has had a thorough check up.

I asked him what his opinions were on complete dog food and he said he didn’t have one and that I should feed my dog what Guide dogs tell me to feed her, which put my back up a bit. I then asked about the scurf which people have noticed in Jasmine’s coat and asked about her skin. he said “It looks OK to me”, but he wasn’t even looking at her. At some point during the consultation I asked the vet to clip jasmine’s dew claws, but it was only on my way home, once I had been ushered out fairly promptly, that I realised it hadn’t been done. I know I should have reminded him, but his off-hand attitude put me off my stride.

It may be that he is a good vet with appalling people skills, but how do I tell?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How do you know if your Vet is a Good One?

  1. welshgeordie says:

    Hey Mel,
    I don’t know if I’m too much of a bitch or perfectionist, or both, but going on what you experienced, if it were me, I’d put him down as a bad vet anyway. Part of being a vet is not only dealing with the animals, but their staff/owners too and if he can’t do that, then either he needs retraining or perhaps a change of career–might I suggest traffic warden? Also, I wonder if that explains the attitudes of his customers in the waiting-room toward you? Maybe they were just trying to prepare you for Mr helpful himself, lol. Seriously though, personally, I’d go elsewhere next time and tell this fella to shove his vet skills where he keeps his personality … if he can remember where that is. Oops? I think I need more sleep, that wasn’t very nice was it? Again seriously, you and Jasmine deserve more respect and better service than that.
    Cheers,
    Simon

  2. Anonymous says:

    That’s not acceptable
    Hi Mel
    Clearly he’s not a good vet. You went in for a booster, claw clip and answers to 2 queries and came out with just the booster done.
    If he didn’t know the answer about dog food I’m sure he could have referred you to a nutritionist, or given you some idea of how to identify the good foods. Perhaps he’s been told off in the past, for interfering with GDBA guidelines? I know there are a couple that my vet is not completely in agreement with. Still, he could have just said so if that was the case.
    At the end of the day a good vet should listen to your concerns and provide their professional opinion. They should carry out the things you have asked for and they should not just ‘pooh pooh’ concerns you have.
    Jasmine’s coat issue could be diet related, but could also be a skin irritatation caused by householder cleaners, or a reaction to the frontline. It’s unlikely to be mites or flea reaction, but some seem to be resistant to frontline now, so it’s not impossible! He should have at least taken a closer look for you, or offered you the option of further investigation if it did not clear up.
    Since lack of fatty acids in the diet can cause this problem, evening primrose oil, added to food, can be helpful. Also malaseb shampoo can help, but you need a vet prescription for this.
    If I were you I would ask for a refund if they charged a consultation fee today!
    Kirsty

  3. soulsmystery says:

    Good vets
    I’ve only taken Astra to one vet who was great. He was attentive, thorrow, and friendly, and knew what he was doing.
    In contrast, your vet sounds lax, at best, and displayed appalling manners. He should answer your queries,and should have clipped her claws, as you asked him to.

  4. fleurette67 says:

    That vet doesn’t sound good
    Hi Mel! I definitely agree with the above comments, that the vet you saw for Jasmine’s check-up definitely doesn’t sound like a good one. If he didn’t know the answer to your diet question, he could have referred you to someone else, and that is true as regards your query about her skin too: he should also have done Jasmine’s claws for you because you asked him to do that. I very much hope you get a better vet next time you have to take Jasmine to see one.

  5. narnaneana says:

    Second opinion
    Hi Mel,
    For once I’m checking my LJ friends page, something I haven’t done since goodness knows when!
    That vet sounds rediculously poor to me. Everyone who’s commented so far is right – the vet you see should address your concerns, answer your questions and do the things you want him to do. Just like if you saw a doctor who was unhelpful or rude to you, I’m sure you have the same right to a second opinion for Jasmine.

Leave a Reply

