a Refreshing Change

I went to hospital for an eye appointment on Saturday and for the first time in years I really felt I was being listened to. I can’t count the number of times I’ve come away with the impression that because I have the guide dog, I’m a fully functioning blind person so the little bit of residual vision I have really isn’t important if it goes.

Not on Saturday though. I’ve noticed a distinct drop in my residual vision to virtually nothing in the last year and it was explained to me that this is because my cornea is an irregular shape. I also asked about the fact that some people with a particular type of LCA which is the eye condition I have have had some successful treatment.

I now have a treatment plan. firstly to see a geneticist to see what type of LCA I have. Then to see an optometrist to determine whether my vision could be improved with a cornea transplant, then back to the original guy with all the information.

I’m very pleased about this.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a Refreshing Change

  1. pauraque says:

    That’s very cool. My mother was a tissue donor, and when she passed away her corneas were able to be donated to two people who gained back some sight when they’d had none left at all. I was glad about that and I’m sure she would have been too.

  2. soulsmystery says:

    That’s very cool indeed, long live doctors who explain things, listen, and provide good treatment plans.
    Jess.

  3. fleurette67 says:

    Yippee for a doctor who listened to you!
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that the doctor you saw last weekend listened to your concerns about your remaining vision getting worse, and it’s good that he’s already come up with a treatment plan. If it’s decided that you should have a cornea transplant, I’d say “go for it”: I’ve had one myself, and, although it didn’t improve my sight because my eye condition is caused by something wrong with the retina, it saved my right eye after the old cornea became dangerously thin, so, although my retina condition will make me lose my sight eventually, I currently still have my right eye with a little bit of vision in it. Here’s hoping that any treatment you have for your eyes in the future, whether drastic like that or not, will be successful!

Leave a Reply

