Free Running Frustrations

Took Jasmine for a run on a local playing field before coming into work this morning and it wasn’t as easy as I’d hoped it would be. I think part of the problem is that the field is so open that she can see me at all times, so the urgency to come back to me isn’t so great. She did return to me but I felt she was doing it partly on her own terms.

There were a few people on the field with dogs. One guy decided to grab Jasmine and bring her over to me as he assumed I was looking for her, even though I wasn’t actually calling her. Then another woman suggested that my dog needed further training because she hadn’t shown me the way off the field when I was lost. Even though this was the first time Jasmine has been on the field.

I so wish people would keep their assumptions and opinions to themselves. Why notjust pass the time of day with me like they would any other dog walker, but oh no! They have to invent little scenarios and act accordingly.

Maybe on a better day this wouldn’t get to me so much but at the moment things like this are bothering me more and more.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Running Frustrations

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified
    Hi Mel! I don’t blame you in the least for being annoyed at the comments of the other dog-walkers on that field where you gave Jasmine a free run before work. This is yet another example of the usual “blind equals incapable” assumption, which probably infuriates you as much as it does me.

  2. some people
    yikes some people can be so rude, huge hugs. you deserve to do things in peace and in the way you choose. take care. hugs.

Leave a Reply

