Aftercare and Pigeons

Yesterday I had a routine aftercare visit from the instructor who trained me with Jasmine. We’ve now been qualified for three months and still progressing well.

We decided that we would meet in Nottingham and take Jasmine on some new routes so I caught the bus to the city centre where we met up. We then walked from Parliament street to the station, pointing out a couple of shops on the way, which takes in pedestrianised areas, an indoor shopping centre, a subway and a couple of busy road crossings. Jasmine worked very well and showed some high levels of initiative. For example, on an approach to a zebra crossing from a wide open area Jasmine indicated it, despite the fact that it wasn’t straight ahead of me as I thought it was, but was slightly to our left. She also chose some very good straight lines and often seemed to make similar decisions that Jade used to.

Work wise, the walk was very good, but it wasn’t without incident! Just after emerging from a subway, there were evidently a few pigeons fighting over some food on the ground. Because they were preoccupied, they didn’t see us until we were almost on top of them, so they flew up right in front of us causing us both to startle. I tried to continue on with Jasmine but as she started off she quite literally crapped herself! It was either shock or high excitement but it certainly caused an immediate reaction!

I then met the archetypal nutter in the middle of a set of lights whilst waiting to cross the far side of the road. We’ve all met them, the one who leans all over you to stroke the dog and says how wonderful you are while you’re trying to ask him to leave the dog alone! This one was a bit different though in that he then started to recite some very weird poetry. I was stuck. Nowhere to go as the lights were red! As soon as they changed my instructor said clearly to go across, and we made a hasty retreat! Our visits always seem to be eventful, I’m surpriseed my instructor still agrees to come out with me!

After this, the rest of the visit was uneventful. We went to Nottingham station, did some work along the platforms, across the bridge and onto a tram back into the city centre. The instructor was very pleased with our standard of work so it was a very positive visit.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aftercare and Pigeons

  1. oh wow
    oh wow, glad the visit went well despite the shocks, poor jasmine. hugs.

  2. welshgeordie says:

    Hi Mel,
    Wow you don’t half get them don’t you? There really are some very odd people in this world, seriously. Hats off to Jasmine though, it sounds as if she really did well, despite the pigeons. Very well done to both of you. As I’ve said before, you guys make a great team.

  3. soulsmystery says:

    Well that certainly was an eventful trip! I’ve had the ones who try and pat the dog and go on about how she reminds them of the dog they had before…I’m glad you both worked well, however.

Leave a Reply

