Next Door’s Extension

Whilst I’m on the subject of my house, I might as well rant about next door’s extension. They are having a small extension on the back for downstairs toilet. This extension is small enough that they don’t require planning permission. The houses are terraced, so the thing will be right on my boundary. It’ll block the light out from my kitchen to a certain extent and its guttering will overhang my property. Because they don’t require planning permission I can’t oppose the plans so, unless I want to go into private dispute with my neighbours, which could be very expensive and disruptive, there is nothing whatsoever I can do about it.

I’ve written to the architect with the following stipulations, although I don’t suppose he is interested in the least. My garden must be kept safe and secure with some kind of temporary fencing in order that myself, my partner and my dog aren’t affected or endangered by the building works. Any damage to my property must be put right before the contractors leave the site, and no building materials should be left on my property.

The lady next door is lucky that I have a certain degree of empathy. This toilet is being built as she is elderly and ill and it will enable her to live at home more easily. I really don’t like her, but I still have a conscience. If I opposed their plans, she could have a significant delay to the building of the extension, and to be honest, who knows how long she will live.

So, I’m stuck with it. There’s one silver lining in the cloud though, which is, when I’m sitting on my patio, they won’t be able to look over the fence and be nosey any more.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

