Finding Reliable Tradesmen

I’ve put it off and off, to the point where I can’t procrastinate any longer. I need some work doing to my house. Some of the double glazing needs replacing, I need the back fence replacing, and up till Tuesday this week, I needed a gardener!

The fence has been on-going now since last October when someone came to give me a quote whom my next door neighbour had used last summer. He was meant to come back in the middle of November to do the work. Six missed appointments with varying excuses later, I decided that he should be binned off. I don’t think he was too happy about it as he’d already made my gate but I can’t deal with people who are so unreliable.

I’ve phoned two other people who have come recommended to me. One hasn’t called me back despite me calling him twice, the second asked me a load of questions over the phone which I couldn’t answer and I explained that I was blind and would he come and look for himself. He then asked me if I could have someone there for him to explain things to and wasn’t too happy when I said he’d have to explain to me, the home owner. Needless to say, he didn’t keep his appointment! So, anyone in the Newark area who has a disability and needs that type of work doing, don’t go to Four Seasons Tree and Garden Services, they have a weird attitude towards disability!

So its back to square one again with the fence! I’ve since found a web site which lists Trading Standards approved businesses, http://www.buywithconfidence.gov.uk, so will be looking on there.

That site led me to find a gardener at last. He’s building up his business so hopefully he’ll last a bit longer than most of the other gardeners I have had.

Finally the double glazing! Its a mine-field of information that you have to take in. Energy saving this, security that, guarantees, pricing, offers, well it just goes on! I’ve had two quotes, the third will be next week.

I find inviting total strangers into my home very daunting. Not only do I worry about my safety and security, but there’s also the concern that they won’t be comfortable with dealing with a blind person which happens all to often. There’s so often that assumption which I’ve grown to hate, that I will have someone sighted with me and because I don’t, people don’t always take me seriously.

The most encouraging quote so far for the windows has been from Stormclad Windows and Doors. Their salesman was spot on. No hard sell, a competitive price and he was totally at ease with me. Explaining and describing things in impressive detail.

I’m sure the saga will go on for some time yet!!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Reliable Tradesmen

  1. good luck
    hugs good luck, i’d find the process daunting too. i hope you get everything you need soon from the right people.

Leave a Reply

