Government Blocks New Europe Wide Disability rights

The article can be read at the following link, and I would strongly urge you to write to the Prime Minister about this as I am going to.

http://www.rnib.org.uk/getinvolved/campaign/europeworldwide/Pages/Europe-wide_disability_rights.aspx

In brief, proposals have been made in europe to make goods and services, as well as travel, fully accessible for disabled people. However, some governments, including ours, are supporting alternatives which require manufacturers and service providers to do this voluntarily.

Yet another way in which this Labour government have let me down.

Why do they think that my right to access goods and services is any less than any other UK citizen?

I’ve lived here all my life.
I pay taxes the same as everyone else.
I even voted them in, even though the voting procedure is in itself extremely difficult to access.

Words fail me. I feel thoroughly de-valued and let down by this government and to an extent this country as a whole.

Until disability rights is law things will never change.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Government Blocks New Europe Wide Disability rights

  1. the DDA as guidelines only.
    hi mel. The DDA is guidelines only, and they say employers, etc, etc only have to do what is reasonable, which means they can get away with denying those who pose, as they see it, a so called insumountable problem. why do ramps and automatic doors go up in all buildings? because they can support many more than just wheelchair users, but blind people and their access to computers in the workplace, or in libraries can go hang imho. i read the article you posted link to, and can only too well believe the govt of this country would vote down proposals to increase access to disabled people, for it would force them to think about those disabled people who have more expencive needs than just the odd ramp or automatic door. can i get my bank’s info in braille at the door? no. can a wheel chair user get into a bank? yes. can I use the cash machine wihtout help? no. can a wheelchair user? yes. can deaf people use banks, mostly. do i get the idea blind people have fallen off the radar?

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified
    Hi Mel! As I am no longer resident in the UK, I don’t feel I can join you in writing to the British Prime Minister about this disgraceful come-down concerning this new European disability rights law, but I definitely think your complaints are justified. And I also agree with the previous commenter here, that wheelchair users get a lot more done to help their accessibility than blind people do. If it’s expense that’s the problem, then wheelchair users getting more help than blind people isn’t logical, because wheelchairs are expensive things and don’t last a whole person’s life. Much as I know that many UK citizens, including government members, don’t like interference from Europe, for once the European Union is talking sense when wanting this accessibility law: it’s a terrible shame that the UK is among the countries which oppose it!

Leave a Reply

