A Surprising Change of Direction

Had a routine visit yesterday evening from the Guide Dog Mobility Instructor who has been working with Jasmine and me. The plan was that we’d walk the route to the leisure centre. On the way we pass the end of the road which leads to the doctors’ surgery and I asked if I could just nip in and make an appointment whilst I was there.

I’m so glad I did. Since I last visited the doctor in August or September of last year, they have built a block of apartments plus car parks, right in the way of where I thought I had to go! How Rude!

So, we spent a bit of time working out the best way to go as the pavement layout has completely changed. Its not an easy walk for Jasmine as it relies heavily on her initiative and less on the straight line in parts, but I think she’s got it. She’s the sort of dog who doesn’t seem to mind going over routes several times so we were able to perfect it.

I’m just glad that I decided to divert yesterday whilst I had some help, rather than deciding to do it later on with Jasmine.

In the process of sorting out this new route, we drove around a bit to see if there was a better option with better pavements all the way. No such luck. We now seem to have a medical centre with no direct approach for pedestrians. We either have to go down poorly lit alley ways, or along roads with narrow or non-existent pavements. All in the centre of a very urban district. Its fine if you drive there, nice big car park to park in, but to hell with those of us who have to walk there.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Surprising Change of Direction

  1. pauraque says:

    I used to go to a medical center that had the same problem. When they designed it, they were obviously only thinking of people who drive. To walk there one has to zig zag through parking lots and across grass, go up and down awkward curbs with no wheelchair cut-outs, and so on. It was bad enough for me as an able bodied guy without a car, but worse for those with mobility issues. You’d think for a medical center someone would have thought of that!

Leave a Reply

