A Good Walk Spoiled by Other People’s Rudeness

Personally, I think that those who deliberately distract my guide dog whilst I am working it are invaders of my personal space and extremely rude. If people took the time to ask me if they could stroke my dog, I’d probably say yes, unless of course, I was in a terrible hurry, in which case I’d say something along the lines of: “I’d rather you didn’t as I have to be somewhere,but please, if you see me passing again, ask me.”

This lunch time I went over to Sainsbury’s with Jasmine who was working well. Until that is, three people in succession tried to get her attention by putting their hands out to her or even patting her as she passed. Because Jasmine is a young dog and very full on, she reacted to these gestures and stopped concentrating. Each time this happened I had to give her a firm correction to bring her focus back to me and her work. One of the three even had the nerve to say I was cruel.

So, poor Jasmine was punished for something which she didn’t even initiate. Had she been left alone she’d have worked like a dream. Its just so unfair. What I’d really like to do in these situations is yank the person away from my dog, not the other way around, but I’d be had up for assault if I did!

This situation to me is like approaching someone with a nice bag, admiring it then touching it, even looking inside the pockets. I’d be apprehended for invading that person’s space and property, I might even be accused of attempting to steal their belongings. So why isn’t a guide dog considered my property and therefore afforded same respect from the public at large?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Good Walk Spoiled by Other People’s Rudeness

  1. that’s horrible
    that’s bloody horrible and people should be more considerate. hugest of hugs hun!

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified
    Hi Mel! As far as I’m concerned, your rant in this here LJ entry is totally justified. Not only are these people, who pat and stroke Jasmine without your permission, invading your personal space, they’re not even showing you common courtesy in my opinion: as you wrote on Twitter yesterday, they wouldn’t pat a police dog while it’s working, so why should they do so to a guide dog? You’re quite right to want people to ask permission to pat or stroke your dog rather than just barging in to do so: quite honestly, I think that such people are taking advantage of the fact that you are blind, and they obviously think you won’t notice what’s going on, but of course you do, and you’re right to complain about it.

Leave a Reply

