Gradually getting Back to Normality

We’ve had a lovely weekend this weekend with friends staying. This was the first time we have had friends to stay with another guide dog. I was unsure of how jasmine would behave, but she was actually very good. The other dog is a nine-year-old dignified retriever which I think helped.

We also went out for a meal last night. the restaurant is a short walk from the house which meant I had to work jasmine whilst walking with my partner and other people. yes, she was a little distracted, but I was very pleased as she was still listening to me. she showed some real potential last night.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gradually getting Back to Normality

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad the weekend went well
    Hi Mel! I’m glad that the weekend went well, and that Jasmine behaved well when there were friends staying with you and when one of these friends also has a guide dog. It’s understandable that Jasmine should be a bit distracted when you’re walking with several other people, but that’s probably because she’s so young and inexperienced: the more you take her out with several people, the more she’ll get used to it. I’ve never had a guide dog, but in my family we’ve had the same thing happen with pet dogs: the ones who rarely went out with more than one person played up much more when walking with several people than dogs we’ve had whom we’ve taken out walking relatively regularly with more than one person.

  2. she did good
    she did do good this weekend, again i want to thank you very much for having me.

  3. Anonymous says:

    RE Gradually Getting Back To Normality
    I’m glad Jasmine and Earl got on. You never can tell beforehand. It’s lovely to see dogs interact and how the old dignified ones suddenly revert to puppyhood and showing the youngster the ropes be it table manners, not jumping up at the humans, every time Jolly did this Morris pushed her out of the way and started grooming her and his favourite of digging and rolling in mud. It’s so lovely to hear that your new partnership is blossoming. Sending you both a group retriever hug. Kim, Morris and Jolly.

Leave a Reply

