A Startling Realisation

Jasmine is now settling down well to our work routine, in spite of the fact that we’ve had loads of snow and ice to deal with. I’m hoping that this will continue. I feel that Jasmine seems so inexperienced, even compared with other dogs I have qualified with, and I’m hoping that a work routine will help her gain confidence.

I had an awful realisation yesterday. When I first brought Jasmine home, I realise that I actually didn’t like her very much. She was disobedient, she lacked confidence, and she wasn’t Jade! Thankfully, she is actually very different from Jade and as she becomes more secure at home, her own little character is beginning to shine through. I feel dreadful about my initial feelings towards her, but they were very real for a while.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Startling Realisation

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad your opinion of Jasmine is higher now!
    Hi Mel! I can understand you having a low opinion of Jasmine when you first brought her home, given her faults and her lack of experience, It’s natural that you missed Jade at first, but Jasmine could never be expected, and probably never will, be exactly like her. Having said that, though, I must add that it’s good that Jasmine is now rising in your estimation. As she gets more experienced, I’m sure she’ll improve even more.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Don’t worry. I didn’t like Morris for exactly the same season: he wasn’t Guy. Even though Guy had become a cantankerous old so and so: he was MY cantankerous old git. I’m in the same boat with Jolly, but we’re working at it and she’s a very responsive worker, who is currently snoring in her basket. Take it one day at a time.

    • huge hugs mel, i think you’re feelings towards jasmine were totally and utterly natural. you’d parted with jade and then were training with a new dog. i’m glad things are working out now and i still can’t wait to meet her.

Leave a Reply

