A Bit of a spending Issue

have had a slight problem with jasmine’s spending since I returned to work on Monday. Both Monday and yesterday, she didn’t spend before I left work when being given the opportunity but let it go on the pavement half way home in more or less the same spot despite me telling her to keep going.

I asked our instructor for some input on this as I didn’t want jasmine to develop a habit of always spending on the way home.

So, on leaving work today, the instructor left me a radio strategically placed so that I could be in contact without Jasmine knowing she was there. I first tried to spend her but she lost interest. I played with her for a while and tried again with no result. I then set off on a short walk and returned to the spending area, still with no avail.

So it was decided to work her home, give her plenty to think about on the stretch of road where she has spent previously and correct her firmly if she did it again.

When I reached the offending road, I asked her to do several sit waits and stand waits. We got to the end of the road with no problem. In fact the rest of the walk, with a few more sits and stands, went fine and we arrived home without a bag of pooh dangling from my right hand!

Contrary to what is normally taught about waiting a while before feeding on arrival home, I was advised to feed her straight away then spend her. this is to hopefully enforce that she waits till she gets home, has her food, then does a pooh.

So, the same applies to tomorrow evening and we’ll see how she gets on.

So, to all those who think that guide Dog Owners just get issued a dog, pick up the handle and go, this is so not the case! Establishing a good spending routine can be very much in the forefront when working with a new dog.

all this deep snow isn’t helping I’m sure. After all, who’d really want to squat down in it to relieve themselves given the chance?

We’ve now had snow on the ground for almost a week and I have no choice but to work jasmine in it to get to and from work.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bit of a spending Issue

  1. Anonymous says:

    jady lady
    really enjoying your posts about Jasmine,also I find them very helpful. I think Harry is finally getting the spendig

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: jady lady
      oops sorry, Harry is finally getting the hang of spending,although if we go somewhere new he tends to go , any tips ? Kala59

Leave a Reply

