Happy New year!

Just to wish anyone who reads this a very happy 2010. Hope it bring health and happiness to everyone.

I haven’t updated this journal in a while, simply because there hasn’t been anything that really merited writing about or at times, I just didn’t feel like writing.

Christmas was an unrivalled disaster and ruined for me by one person’s selfishness and appalling manners. but that is not for these pages. Our guests left on Monday of this week by which time I had the start of what has turned out to be a pretty horrible cold. We were supposed to go to Friends in Birmingham yesterday to celebrate New year, but what with my cold, the fact that there are no direct trains anywhere from Nottingham this “Festive Season” and my partner’s reluctance to do the Birmingham journey which is what he has to do regularly for work, we ended up staying here and had the evening by ourselves. It was actually very nice. A meal, followed by a film, a few drinks and some sparkling wine at midnight.

apart from that, we’ve had a lot of lazy time, watching old TV series and films. Only a couple of days and I’ll be back to work which will be a shock to the system after not having been there for six weeks. I’m really looking forward to being with everyone, but the work is going to be trying I’m sure!

Jasmine has done very well particularly as she had a period of no work between 20th December and 30th December due to the pavement being too steep and icy for me to walk down. when she did start working again, although she was very excited and there was a lot of tension, she actually worked very welll. We had one unfortunate incident on christmas Day. Jasmine was intent on watching someone while they were eating, so much so that I walked into her while she was standing there and she didn’t even notice. I gave her a pretty hard collar correction and told her no and to go to her bed. She turned on me and snapped but then immediately slunk off to her bed. I tethered her there for about an hour and completely ignored her. I was initially very worried about this, but as I couldn’t contact Guide dogs about it for a few days I had time to feel calmer about it. Since that incident I’ve done a lot of obedience work with her and she’s improving all the time. she hasn’t attempted to have another go so I’ll probably leave well alone but keep a close eye on her.

So Monday is the start of a new routine for jasmine. I keep telling her that she starts her new job on Monday! i’ve bought myself some ice spikes at vast expense which will probably guarantee that we have no further snow and ice this winter!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New year!

  1. happy new year
    happy new year, i hope you get better soon hun! hugs.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Happy New Year, and get well soon!
    Hi Mel! I, in turn, wish you a happy New Year, even though it has been spoiled by you having a rotten cold. I’m sorry that your Christmas was disastrous too! But I’m glad that, in spite of some problems, Jasmine has been working well, and I hope that will continue when you go back to work on Monday. All the best to you, and to her of course, for the rest of 2010!

Leave a Reply

