A Free Run and a Vet visit

too much snow and ice to work Jasmine again today, so I went with the instructor to register Jasmine with my local vet. Jasmine’s been a bit wary of the vet following an illness that she had when she was younger, but she showed no signs of it today. the vet was lovely to her, taking time to stroke and talk to her whilst she was examining her.

Following the visit, we took jasmine and the instructor’s dog, a 9-year-old Labrador/Retriever cross, to some woods where they had an absolute blast in the snow. At one point, jasmine was rolling over and over, I swear she was trying to make dog angels in the snow!

So that’s it. no more training between now and when I go back to work on the 4th. As soon as the ice melts, i’ll be taking her outworking. I dread to think what she’ll be like. very full on I’d imagine.

I suddenly feel very green and vulnerable with this very new dog. I think what I really need is a few consecutive successful walks under my belt.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Free Run and a Vet visit

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad vet visit and free run went OK
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to hear that Jasmine and the vet got on well with each other when they first met up on Wednesday, and that Jasmine enjoyed her free run in the snow. I can understand you being a bit nervous about working with Jasmine while she is still so inexperienced as a guide dog, but the more you two work together, the better she’ll get at working, at least I hope so!

Leave a Reply

