Gide Dog Training On Hold

Since I last wrote about the training, nothing much has happened as it snowed fairly heavily on Sunday and it has now turned to ice. Living on a hill has made it impossible to go out with Jasmine. I certainly don’t have enough confidence in her yet to work her in icy conditions and if I slipped or fell, this could potentially be very damaging to her confidence in me and in her work.

Having said that, I did walk about 300 yards between the hairdressers and Sainsbury’s yesterday, having been told that the pavements were clearing. This wasn’t really the case, there was still a lot of snow and ice. However, it was on the flat and an excellent exercise in slowing Jasmine right down. I think she wondered what was going on, but her tail was still wagging when we got to Sainsbury’s so no harm done I reckon.

Jasmine had to spend Friday night with her instructor as I had tickets to see the pet shop Boys in birmingham and its too early to leave her with people she doesn’t know. I wondered if this would have a bad effect on her bonding with me, but in fact it seemed to be the reverse. she was very happy to come home and has been a lot more responsive to me since. I’ve also had to go out a couple of times without her in the last two or three days and again, she has been very happy when I returned.

Tomorrow our instructor will be coming to take us to the vet so that i can introduce jasmine, and afterwards we will be taking her for a free run. This is possibly a little earlier that we would have done otherwise but I think Jasmine could benefit from some exercise and we don’t think it will have a detrimental effect on her work.

the big kid in me is hoping that there will still be some snow tomorrow for Jasmine to play in!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gide Dog Training On Hold

  1. dn’t blame you
    don’t blame you for putting things on hold for a little while, i’d have done that too if i’d have had one and i really hope this is the year for it! hope everything goes well with the vets tomorrow! huge christmas hugs.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Glad things are still going fine with Jasmine
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that Jasmine worked well with you when you walked to Sainsbury’s recently when the weather was bad, and that she was happy to see you again after you had to leave her and go out without her. Good luck with your visit to the vet’s tomorrow! You’re right, it’ll be fun for Jasmine to have some snow to play in when she goes on her first free run with you after that appointment, but I’m sure she’ll still enjoy that free run even if there’s no snow.

Leave a Reply

