Guide Dog Training Day 25 – Back on Track

having spoken to the instructor about Jasmine’s work yesterday, we concentrated on the walk to work this morning, paying particular attention to the two drop kerbs that I keep missing. We went over it a few times, both on the lead and in harness, using food rewards sometimes to keep her interested. the instructor is having Jasmine tomorrow afternoon/evening as I’d booked to see the Pet Shop Boys in Birmingham prior to accepting jasmine and I’m not going to miss that one! she says she may take jasmine over those drop kerbs again tomorrow afternoon just to reinforce it a bit more.

this afternoon we walked to Sainsbury’s and I can honestly say that apart from high excitement which I had to keep on top of, jasmine did everything perfectly. She even took me straight to the customer services desk which I was very pleased with as it can be quite difficult for the dogs to get to.

Now we’re battening down the hatches and waiting to see if the forecast snow will arrive. its certinly cold enough for snow. It’ll be such a waste if it comes though as I’m not free running Jasmine yet so wouldn’t be able to take her to the park in the snow and see what she does.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide Dog Training Day 25 – Back on Track

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad things are still progressing
    Hi Mel! Sorry to read here that Jasdmine is still playing up when you walk with her to work, but it’s good that she found the way to the customer services desk at Sainsbury’s successfully. To change the subject completely, I hope you enjoy the Pet Shop Boys concert tomorrow.

  2. glad things are getting better
    huge hugs, i’m so glad things are getting back on track! enjoy the pet shop boys i completely love them.

Leave a Reply

